Home / IPL 2018 / The 11th Anniversary of The Most Awaited Cricket League – IPL
IPL 2018 Season 11

The 11th Anniversary of The Most Awaited Cricket League – IPL

IPL 2018 Schedule


Indian Premier League or better known as IPL is a T20 cricket league where every 8 teams participates representing different states of India to win the league and some exciting prices along with it. IPL is a very famous cricket league not only in India but in different parts of the world.

What Makes It Special?

The star-studded league not only involves the best players around the world but also some big celebrities from Bollywood and famous industrialist buying and representing their teams.

Celebrities at IPL 2018

Key Rules of the IPL League:

  • The team can have 4 overseas players maximum in their playing 11 squads.
  • It is also mandatory for the teams to have some of the uncapped players in their playing 11.
  • A Bowler can bowl only 4 overs, not the maximum of that.

Advantages of IPL League for Players:

  • This gives a platform for many of the new players to showcase their talent in the grand stage.
  • The players can seize the moment to earn a spot directly in the national team.
  • A lot of players over the years have utilized this stage to go to a better position in their career.
  • All the players do look forward to earn a spot in the IPL.

Watch: IPL 2018 Live Score

IPL Auction

The management can choose players for their teams in an auction that is held every year. Each team has a limited budget to go to the auction to select the players to represent their team. The auction gives each team management an opportunity to set their eye on the big players and have their catch.

IPL Auction 2018

This year the auction held in Bangalore on 27th and 28th of January. The Star Media has bagged the broadcasting partner of IPL with a whopping 16237.85 Crore bid from Sony for 5 years. So it is quite understandable from this the popularity of the league and the involvement of money. All the teams has their own theme songs which are played during the games, also they have their own merchandises for their fans.


Teams of IPL 2018


IPL 2018

The returning Super Kings was initially banned from IPL for their allegations on involving in match-fixing. The team is generally owned by Indian Cements which has now come under Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited. CSK is considered to be the heart of IPL. They are the only team to have always qualified for the playoffs in every edition and going on to win the title 3 times in a row. Under the captaincy of M.S.Dhoni, the team showed a lot of potentials to stand tall in the league. The team has retained M.S. Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja and Suresh Raina in their team to move into the auction. The team will be looking forward to shape their line up as before to get the winning combination back.


RCB 2018

RCB has been the chokers in the IPL. Their teams have always been the best suited to win the league but somehow they failed. Owned by United Spirits the team had a descent run in the previous years. They have played finals twice but have never won the title. The team was initially led by Anil Kumble in the previous days, and now by the captain of team India, Virat Kohli. Other then Virat Kohli, AB De villers, and Sarfaraz Khan has been held back by the RCB management. The team will try to have more balance their side by choosing the right players in the auction.


IPL 2018 news

The Badshah Khan of Bollywood, Shah Rukh Khan is the owner of the team. Isn’t this enough to say about the team? The team didn’t start well in the first three years of IPL and went through a lot of turmoil. A lot of controversies rose when Sourav Ganguly was let go from the after the third edition. But then KKR stood up under the reign of Gautam Gambhir and have played the final twice, winning in both occasions.

Jay Mehta, Juhi Chawla, and Red Chillies Entertainment are all owners of KKR. KKR has always drawn the crowd because of Shah Rukh Khan being involved. The team has set good records in the league and always lived up to the expectations of the fans. Not retaining Gautam Gambhir was a huge decision made by the team management. Though a lot of people believes that he will be selected by the team in the auction, but if not then the team will be in search of a captain to lead them from the front in the upcoming auction. Sunil Narine and Andre Russel are the two players retained.


Mumbai Indians in IPL 2018

Mumbai has always been a star-studded team in the league. The Reliance Industries own the team. The team was initially led by Sachin Tendulkar and now by Rohit Sharma. Mumbai has won the league 3 times and has some huge impacts in the league. Their potentials have also contributed a lot to the Indian team. Mumbai has always been favorites to win the league every time. The Wankhade Stadium has always been the home of Cricket in India and Mumbai has lived up to the expectation, rarely disappointing their fans. Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, and Jasprit Bhumrah were no surprise elements to have been retained by the management.


Team Kings XI Punjab

Karan Paul, Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia and Bollywood celebrity Preity Zinta own the team representing Punjab. The team had a descent run in the previous edition of the league. They have failed to set their mark in the league and also lack depth in their potential. They started well in the initial season of the IPL but have failed to set their momentum and never went on to win the league.


IPL news

Initially, the team used to be known as Deccan Chargers when the team was owned by Deccan Chronicle, but the ownership changed to Sun Group, hence getting their name changed too. The team has a good track record in the IPL since they have been crowned champions twice. David Warner and Bhuveneshwar Kumar are staying back in the side. The tried to get back their winning combination from the previous years in the recent 2018 auction.


IPL 2018 News

Owned by the GMR group, Delhi Daredevils have failed miserably to set their mark in the recent seasons of the league. The team has lacked potential, star players who can turn the game for them and also balance. This year they have the opportunity to set everything in order with Rishab Pant, Chris Morris and Shreyas Iyer already in their side.


Updates of IPL 2018

Like CSK, Rajasthan is also returning the league after a span of two years after found guilty of match-fixing. The team is owned by Manoj Badale and Lachlan Mudroch. Rajasthan was the champion of the very first season of the IPL by defeating CSK under Shane Warne. The team after that had a descent run. This time with Steve Smith as their captain the team will be looking to gain some momentum from the auction only by selecting some potential players to balance their side.

One comment

  1. Gautam Gambhir is an Indian cricketer, who played all formats of the game. He is a left-handed opening batsman who plays domestic cricket for Delhi, and captained Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *